Cleveland Clinic appoints oncologist to head Taussig Cancer Institute

We have not been able to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this problem, please contact [email protected]

Alex A. Adjei, MD, PhD, was named president of the Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Institute.

Adjei previously served as an oncology consultant, professor of oncology, and professor of pharmacology at Mayo Clinic and Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science in Rochester, Minnesota.

While there, he co-directed the therapeutic development program at Mayo Clinic Cancer Center. He also oversaw oncology drug development, as well as lung cancer research and treatment at multiple Mayo Clinic sites.

Adjei Alex

Alex A. Adjei

“It is an honor to welcome Dr. Adjei as the head of our Taussig Cancer Institute”, Beri Ridgeway, MD, chief of staff at the Cleveland Clinic, said in a press release. “His clinical expertise, extensive oncology research accomplishments and extensive leadership experience will benefit our institute and advance patient care. »

Adjei’s research has focused on experimental therapeutics, regulatory science and clinical drug development, as well as health disparities, global oncology, new drug treatments for lung cancer and the effects of drug toxicity.

“Cancer is one of the most harrowing diseases that afflict humans,” Adjei said in the statement. “Fortunately, thanks to recent scientific advances, we are making progress towards understanding, preventing and treating all forms of cancer. I am truly honored and thrilled to have the opportunity to work with this talented team of professionals and help position the Cleveland Clinic at the forefront of cancer care.

Abraham James

Jacques Abraham

Adjei previously served as chair of cancer medicine, senior vice president of clinical research, chair of the department of medicine, and professor of oncology at Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center.

James Abraham, M.D – who served as interim president of the Taussig Cancer Institute since May 2021 – will continue to serve as chair of the Department of Hematology and Medical Oncology at the Taussig Cancer Institute.

Comments are closed.